Uncategorized

My First Blog

As a student moving from Southampton, choosing to study in Leicester was a big move for me and one i was very anxious about, this involved leaving my job as a stylist in Karen Millen which i found not only enjoyable but also rewarding as i was helping people feel confident about themselves. De Montfort being renowned for its Contour course and the impressive work which past students have achieved is something that does make me want to thrive to be my best and learn every skill. Designers who have always inspired me are Alexander McQueen as i love the tailoring of his garments and the amazing prints he creates and how he wants to make women look strong and independent. John Paul Gaultier is also someone who brings me a lot of inspiration from the silhouettes he used to underwear as outwear, i recently saw his exhibition at the Barbican and was amazed by the beauty and sheer detail in his garments up close, i would love to be able to make a garment to this standard.

IMG_2296IMG_2298IMG_2279

The reason i am here is because i have a strong drive to success, i want to be able to learn skills which will carry me through this tough industry, develop my own style and learn industry skills so one day i will be knowledgeable enough to be able to start my own label.

Standard

Leave a Reply

